ESA wanderer Andreas Mogensen starts bustling International Space Station tour

207 views Leave a comment



ESA wanderer Andreas Mogensen arrived during a Internation Space Station currently after a two-day moody with Soyuz booster commander Sergei Volkov and Kazakh cosmonaut Aidyn Aimbetov.

Their moody to a International Space Station in a Soyuz TMA-18M booster began during 04:37 GMT (06:37 CEST, 10:37 internal time) on 2 Sep as they were launched into circuit from a Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

After encircling a creation for a following dual days, a booster docked during 07:39 GMT (09:39 CEST) this morning, 4 September.

The programmed event method began about dual hours before docking, with a organisation prepared to take over manually if required. The contingent non-stop a booster induce  at 10:15 GMT (12:15 CEST) to join 6 astronauts already in space, bringing a sum series of people on a Station to nine, for a initial time given 2013.

Soyuz_TMA-18M_liftoff_medium (2)

Soyuz TMA-18M liftoff

The iriss goal was conceived, designed and carried out by ESA, with goal control operative 24/7 during a Columbus Control Centre, located during a German Aerospace Center DLR, in Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany. All of Andreas’s experiments use a European space laboratory Columbus or a European bay-window look-out Cupola.

The Soyuz commander Sergei Volkov will stay on a International Space Station for 5 months while Andreas and Aidyn lapse with cosmonaut Gennady Padalka on a Soyuz TMA-16M vehicle. The change of booster is partial of a marathon goal for NASA wanderer Scott Kelly and cosmonaut Mikhail Korniyenko, who are staying on a Station for 11 months. Soyuz booster are designed to stay in space for around 6 months, so a long-stay crew’s car contingency be transposed by pleasantness of Sergei, Andreas and Aidyn.

Andreas’s ESA ‘iriss’ goal lasts 10 days and he is devoting his time in space to exam new technologies and improving space operations. His activities embody contrast a new water-cleaning surface that mimics nature, hands-free goggles to assistance with formidable tasks, a tight-fitting fit to assuage behind pain common in astronauts and pushing 3 opposite rovers on Earth to ready for missions over divided in a Solar System.


Soyuz TMA-18M approaches Space Station

Soyuz TMA-18M approaches Space Station

Andreas has an essential purpose in this booster swap, aiding both Soyuz commanders on any moody in his purpose as moody engineer, or second in command.

ESA will yield continual updates of Andreas’s activities approach from goal control around a iriss blog and Twitter.

Their lapse moody is designed for 12 September. They will land in a steppe of Kazakhstan with Andreas returning to a European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, Germany, for debriefing.

Source: ESA