ESA wanderer Andreas Mogensen launched to space station

241 views Leave a comment


ESA wanderer Andreas Mogensen, commander Sergei Volkov and Aidyn Aimbetov were launched into space this morning during 04:38 GMT (06:38 CEST) from Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan.

The launch outlines a start of ESA’s 10-day ‘iriss’ goal that focuses on contrast new technologies and ways of using formidable space missions.

The Soyuz TMA-18M booster was pushed into circuit as planned, accelerating 50 km/h every second for a initial 9 minutes.Soyuz_TMA-18M_liftoff_medium (1)

The booster distant from a Soyuz launcher during 04:46 and a contingent are now encircling Earth during 28 800 km/h. They will spend a subsequent 3 days, or 36 orbits of a planet, throwing adult with a International Space Station.

Their advancing is designed on 4 Sep during 07:42 GMT (09:42 CEST) though they will not enter their new home in space until a astronauts on both sides of a booster induce to safeguard that there are no leaks.

Calm before a mission
For Andreas and his colleagues a time spent travelling to a Station will be comparatively calm, with a booster mostly drifting automatically.

Once they get to their end Andreas’s report is entirely packed, with experiments during his brief though heated stay in space.

Andreas will control 3 rovers from space in dual experiments, hunt fugitive sprites during thunderstorms, freshen H2O with a new nanotechnology surface that mimics cells found in each vital being on Earth, wear a tailor-made SkinSuit to assuage behind problems and use a mobile headset that allows belligerent control to demeanour over his shoulder as he works.

Just 8 days after arrival, Andreas and Aidyn will lapse to Earth with a opposite commander and in a opposite spacecraft. They will fly in Soyuz TMA-16M underneath commander Gennady Padalka, who has spent some-more time in space than any other tellurian being.

Source: ESA