Kerala public bypoll: Congress claimant KA Sabarinathan wins Aruvikara seat

266 views Leave a comment

Thiruvananthapuram: Congress claimant KA Sabarinathan on Tuesday won a Aruvikara public subdivision by-election in Kerala.He was forward of his rivals when a counting of votes crossed a half approach mark.

Congress claimant KS Sabarinathan, Screengrab from Youtube videoCongress claimant KS Sabarinathan, Screengrab from Youtube video

Congress claimant KA Sabarinathan. Screengrab from Youtube video

Counting of votes began during 8 a.m. and Sabarinathan took a lead of 1,322 votes in a initial round.

In Saturday’s polls, 77.35 percent of a citizens had expel their votes.

The public subdivision witnessed a triangular competition between a CPI-M, a Congress and a BJP.

The choosing was necessitated after a afterwards public orator G. Karthikeyan died in March. He had represented a subdivision for 24 prolonged years. Sabarinathan, 31, is his son.

There were a sum of 16 possibilities in a ravel and 184,210 electorate — adult from 164,884 in 2011 when Karthikeyan won by over 10,000 votes and that saw a 70 percent turnout.

The statute Congress fielded Sabarinathan, while a Communist Party of India-Marxist nominated 67-year-old former orator and apportion M. Vijayakumar.

The Bharatiya Janata Party put adult a unchanging warhorse O. Rajagopal, 85.

While Sabarinathan and Rajagopal kept a add-on on a counting routine from their homes, Vijayakumar was speckled during a counting centre in a collateral city.