Two Small Asteroids Safely Pass Earth This Week

33 views Leave a comment

Two tiny asteroids recently detected by astronomers during a NASA-funded Catalina Sky Survey (CSS) nearby Tucson, Arizona, are safely flitting by Earth within one lunar stretch this week.

Asteroid 2018 CB will pass closely by Earth on Friday, Feb. 9, during a stretch of about 39,000 miles. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

The initial of this week’s close-approaching asteroids — detected by CSS on Feb. 4 — is designated asteroid 2018 CC. Its tighten proceed to Earth came Tuesday (Feb. 6) during 12:10 p.m. PST (3:10 p.m. EST) during a stretch of about 114,000 miles (184,000 kilometers). The asteroid is estimated to be between 50 and 100 feet (15 and 30 meters) in size.

Of potentially incomparable seductiveness is asteroid 2018 CB,which will also pass closely by Earth on Friday, Feb. 9, during around 2:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. EST), during a stretch of about 39,000 miles (64,000 kilometers), that is reduction than one-fifth a stretch of Earth to a Moon). The asteroid, that is estimated to be between 50 and 130 feet (15 and 40 meters) in size, was also detected by CSS on Feb. 4.

“Although 2018 CB is utterly small, it competence good be incomparable than a asteroid that entered a atmosphere over Chelyabinsk, Russia, roughly accurately 5 years ago, in 2013,” pronounced Paul Chodas, manager of a Center for Near-Earth Object Studies during NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California. “Asteroids of this stretch do not mostly proceed this tighten to a world — maybe usually once or twice a year.”

JPL hosts a Center for Near-Earth Object Studies for NASA’s Near-Earth Object Observations Program, an component of a Planetary Defense Coordination Office within a agency’s Science Mission Directorate.

Source: JPL

Comment this news or article