Vengsarkar a large leader as ex-cricketers face churned formula in MCA elections

289 views Leave a comment

Mumbai: While former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar cumulative 195 votes, some-more than even President Sharad Pawar who got re-elected for another two-year tenure in a Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) elections on Jun 17 with 176 votes. Other former cricketers in ravel – exclusive Pravin Amre – got tripped up.

File print of Dilip Vengsarkar. AFP Photos.File print of Dilip Vengsarkar. AFP Photos.

File print of Dilip Vengsarkar. AFP Photos.

Two Test players – Abey Kuruvilla and Lalchand Rajput – aligned with a ‘Cricket First’ row floated by Vijay Patil who mislaid to Pawar by 34 votes in a true quarrel – unsuccessful in their bid to turn VP and Joint Secretary respectively.

Vengsakar, who had sided with a statute organisation 4 years after tasting better opposite a late Vilasrao Deshmukh when he contested for a presidentship of MCA, polled 195 votes – a second-highest after Arman Malik who got 205 votes while being inaugurated as a member of a handling committee.

Vengsarkar and BJP MLA and city celebration arch Ashish Shelar (183 votes) got inaugurated as a dual clamp presidents of MCA and, in box Pawar is incompetent to attend a few BCCI meetings in future, a 116-Test maestro is all set to fill in for a NCP supremo.

Another former Test batsman Amre – who contested from Patil’s row – cumulative 170 votes to win a chair in a handling cabinet while former Mumbai left-arm spinner Sanjay Patil bit a dust.

Mayank Khandwala, a former Cricket Club of India left-arm spinner, also got tripped by Nitin Dalal in a competition to turn a new treasurer.