Vijay Hazare Trophy semis: Axar’s six-for destroys TN, Chand powers Delhi past HP

219 views Leave a comment

Left-arm spinner Axar Patel wreaked massacre recording a career-best List A sum of 6/43 as Gujarat kick Tamil Nadu by 31 runs to set adult pretension date with Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi in a final of a Vijay Hazare Trophy cricket tournament.

Batting first, Gujarat scored a decent 248/8 with useful contributions from middle-order batsmen Chirag Gandhi (71) and Manprit Juneja (74). Tamil Nadu skipper Ravichandran Ashwin was a many successful bowler with 3/51 in 10 overs.

In reply, Tamil Nadu were all out for 217 in 47.3 overs as Axar’s sum review 10-1-43-6.

File design of Axar Patel. AFPFile design of Axar Patel. AFP

File design of Axar Patel. AFP

India’s singular overs dilettante ran by a Tamil Nadu top-order notwithstanding India drop Abhinav Mukund carrying his bat by a innings with an dominant hit of 104.

Mukund and associate drop Dinesh Karthik (41) had combined 84 runs in usually 16.1 overs before Gujarat skipper Parthiv Patel introduced Axar as a sixth bowler into a attack.

From 84/0, Tamil Nadu slumped to 99/4 as a left-arm spinner struck 4 times in his initial 3 overs.

Karthik, along with Baba twins Aparajith (7) and Indrajith (1) were discharged quickly. India’s Test dilettante Murali Vijay (0) also over but opening his account.

Three of a 4 batsmen were stumped as they attempted to play assertive strokes.

Tamil Nadu never recovered from a reversal even yet left-hander Mukund carried a quarrel compartment a finish personification 142 balls and attack 6 fours.

There was a spark of wish when Mukund along with skipper Ashwin (22) combined 51 runs for a sixth wicket as Tamil Nadu reached 175/5 during one stage. But once Ashwin became Axar’s fifth victim, Tamil Nadu’s run-chase ran out of steam.

Mukund probably had no support during a other finish as Jasprit Bumrah finished a diversion with integrate of fuller deliveries to gloss off a tail.

Brief Scores: Gujarat 248/8 in 50 overs (Manprit Juneja 74, Chirag Gandhi 71, Ravi Ashwin 3/51)

Tamil Nadu 217 in 47.3 overs (A Mukund 104 no, Dinesh Karthik 41, Axar Patel 6/43). Gujarat won by 31 runs.

Delhi cruised into a final of Vijay Hazare cricket contest as they rode on Unmukt Chand’s dominant 80 to register a six-wicket feat over Himachal Pradesh in a initial semi-final here today.

After Delhi captain Gautam Gambhir chose to field, his bowlers limited Himachal to 200 for 9 in 50 overs during a M Chinnaswamy stadium.

Leading a side, Bipul Sharma top-scored for Himachal with an assertive 45-ball 51, that was studded with 4 bounds and 3 sixes, including a outrageous one that landed on one of a stands.

Sharma was ably upheld by Mayank Dagar, who put on 57-run partnership for eighth wicket, after Himachal were precariously placed during 131 for seven.

Chasing a medium sum of 201, Delhi were helped by Chand’s 86-ball knock, that was flashy with 7 bounds and dual sixes.

India opener Shikhar Dhawan was discharged for 39 by Bipul Sharma, who had a southpaw foxed by his approved left-arm spin. Dhawan took 53 balls to measure those runs and found a blockade on 5 occasions.

Gautam Gambhir, Rishabh Pant and Milind done 16, 18 and 10, respectively, before Chand and Nitish Rana (19 not out) guided Delhi past Himachal sum with 8.5 overs to spare.

No Himachal bowler tender as they could usually get 4 wickets with Ronit More, Nikhil Gangta and Bipul Sharma bagging one each.

Chand was announced Man of a Match.

Earlier, sent into bat Himachal began their innings on a bad note, losing dual wickets when a measure was only 32 runs in 10.3 overs.

Opener A K Bains was unfortunately run out for 6 and afterwards Robin Bist, a one-drop batsman, done 6 before being held by Rishabh Pant off Navdeep Amarjeet Saini’s bowling.

P S Chopra (33), in a association of Paras Dogra, put on 45-run partnership for a third wicket.

Rishi Dhawan also shortly departed, carrying done 9 in 21 balls. The Himachal all-rounder was spotless adult by Delhi all-rounder Pawan Negi, that left his group in a lurch, struggling during 98 for 4 in 30.1 overs.

After a depart of Chopra, Dogra also did not final prolonged and walked behind into a pavilion after Chand latched on to a locate off Negi’s delivery. Nikhil Gangta followed fit after scoring 13 runs off 22 balls.

Next to follow was Sumeet Verma, who was stumped by Rishabh Pant off Rana for two. Struggling during 131 for seven, Bipul played a captain’s hit and stitched a 57-run partnership with Mayank J Dagar for a eighth wicket.

The partnership was damaged by Subodh Bhati after Dagar gave a locate to Negi after scoring 21 in 33 balls.

Sharma was a final male out after Chand took a locate off Ishant Sharma. Bhati, Negi and Rana scalped dual wickets each, while Saini and Ishan bagged one wicket each.