Juno Scientists Prepare for Seventh Science Pass of Jupiter

44 views Leave a comment

NASA’s Juno booster will make a seventh scholarship flyby over Jupiter’s puzzling cloud tops on Friday, Sept. 1, during 2:49 p.m. PDT (5:49 p.m. EDT and 21:49 UTC). At a time of perijove (defined as a indicate in Juno’s circuit when it is closest to a planet’s center), a booster will be about 2,200 miles (3,500 kilometers) above a planet’s cloud tops.

Citizen scientist David Englund combined this fashionable Jovian design regulating information from a JunoCam imager on NASA’s Juno spacecraft. Image Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI/MSSS/David Englund

Juno launched on Aug. 5, 2011, from Cape Canaveral, Florida, and arrived in circuit around Jupiter on Jul 4, 2016. During a goal of exploration, Juno soars low over a planet’s cloud tops — as tighten as about 2,100 miles (3,400 kilometers). During these flybys, Juno is probing underneath a obscuring cloud cover of Jupiter and study a auroras to learn some-more about a planet’s origins, structure, atmosphere and magnetosphere.

NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California, manages a Juno goal for a principal investigator, Scott Bolton, of Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio. The Juno goal is partial of a New Frontiers Program managed by NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, for a Science Mission Directorate. Lockheed Martin Space Systems, Denver, built a spacecraft. JPL is a multiplication of Caltech in Pasadena, California.

Source: JPL

Comment this news or article