Sania conferred Khel Ratna; shooter Jitu Rai, gymnast Dipa Karmakar among Arjuna Awardees

745 views Leave a comment

New Delhi: Tennis star Sania Mirza was currently conferred with a prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna — a country’s top sporting honour — while sharpened prodigy Jitu Rai was among a Arjuna endowment recipients in a festive rite during a Rashtrapati Bhawan.

President Pranab Mukherjee presented a endowment to Sania, clad in a maroon saree and blue blazer, amid howling acclaim during a Darbar gymnasium where Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal was among a attendees.


Sania became a second tennis actor to accept a country’s top sporting honour after Leander Paes. PTI

Sania became a second tennis actor to accept a country’s top sporting honour after Leander Paes on a day when Sports Ministry was fighting a justice box that lifted questions opposite a routine of selecting a awardees.

The President also gave divided a Arjuna awards even as a choice was low on star energy in a deficiency of cricketer Rohit Sharma, who missed a rite alongside fighter Mandeep Jangra and entertain miler M R Poovamma. In all, a (retired) Justice V K Bali led row had endorsed 17 names for Arjuna.

Sania, who captivated a loudest acclaim from a venerable entertainment during a Rashtrapati Bhavan, perceived a medal, certificate and income esteem of Rs. 7.5 lakh. She had flown in only to accept a endowment forward of a US Open starting in New York on Monday.

The Arjuna awardees perceived statuettes, certificates and endowment income of Rs.5 lakh each.

The ceremony, however, was hidden in debate with a abandoned athletes and coaches not usurpation a recommendations of a Ministry-appointed panel.

Just when it seemed there would be no debate in a lead adult to this year’s function, para-athlete H N Girisha approached a Karnataka High Court severe Sania’s recommendation for Khel Ratna.

While Girisha will still be carefree of removing a endowment later, another justice box tentative is of wrestling manager Vinod Kumar, who went to Delhi High Court claiming he was some-more honourable for a Dronacharya endowment than his opposition Anoop Singh, whose name was endorsed by a government-appointed panel. It will be famous in a subsequent weeks either he gets a Dronacharya or not.

The list of sportspersons conferred Arjuna awards: P R Sreejesh (hockey), Dipa Karmakar (gymnastics), Jitu Rai (shooting), Sandeep Kumar (archery), Mandeep Jangra (boxing), Babita (wrestling), Bajrang (wrestling), Rohit Sharma (cricket), K Srikanth (badminton), Swarn Singh Virk (rowing), Satish Sivalingam (weightlifting), Santhoi Devi (wushu), Sharath Gaekwad (para-swimming), M R Poovamma (athletics), Manjeet Chhillar (kabaddi), Abhilasha Mhatre (kabaddi), Anup Kumar Yama (rollerskating)