Small Asteroid Flew Safely Past Earth Today

100 views Leave a comment

This charcterised gif of asteroid 2016 RB1’s tighten proceed to Earth was imaged by astronomer Gianluca Masi on a dusk of Sept. 6, 2016, regulating a Virtual Telescope located in Ceccano, Central Italy. Credits: VT/Masi

This charcterised gif of asteroid 2016 RB1’s tighten proceed to Earth was imaged by astronomer Gianluca Masi on a dusk of Sept. 6, 2016, regulating a Virtual Telescope located in Ceccano, Central Italy.
Credits: VT/Masi

A tiny asteroid designated 2016 RB1 safely flew past Earth currently during 10:20 a.m. PDT (1:20 p.m. EDT / 17:20 UTC) during a stretch of about 25,000 miles (40,000 kilometers, or only reduction than 1/10th a stretch of Earth to a moon). Because a asteroid’s circuit carried it subsequent (or over) Earth’s south pole, it did not pass within a orbits of communication or continue satellites. 2016 RB1 is estimated to be between 25 to 50 feet (7 and 16 meters) in diameter. It is a closest a space stone will come to Earth for during slightest a subsequent half century.

Asteroid 2016 RB1 was detected on Sept. 5, 2016, by astronomers regulating a 60-inch Cassegrain mirror telescope of a Catalina Sky Survey, located during a limit of Mount Lemmon in a Catalina Mountains north of Tucson, Arizona — a plan of NASA’S NEO Observations Program in partnership with a University of Arizona.

The Center for NEO Studies website has a finish list of new and arriving tighten approaches, as good as all other information on a orbits of famous NEOs (near-Earth objects), so scientists and members of a media and open can lane information on famous objects.

Source: NASA